With the help of the Army Registers for each of the war years and the monthly regimental returns, I’ve been able to piece together all of the officers who served in the 3rd U.S. Cavalry (formerly Regiment of Mounted Riflemen) during the Civil War. I’ll feature a few of the more interesting members in the Fiddler’s Green series. Since I included the entire war, those members of the regiment who resigned their commissions are listed. Each member is listed at the highest rank they achieved in the regiment during the war. Departures from the regiment are listed when possible.


William W. Loring- resigned May 13, 1861
John S. Simonson- retired for incapacity, September 28, 1861
Marshall S. Howe

Lieutenant Colonels

George B. Crittenden- resigned June 10, 1861
Charles F. Ruff
George Stoneman


Benjamin S. Roberts
Thomas Duncan
Edward W.B. Newby
Kenner Garrard


Andrew J . Lindsay- resigned May 5, 1861
Thomas Claiborne Jr.- resigned May 14, 1861
John G. Walker- resigned July 31, 1861
Llewellyn Jones- transferred to Major, 1st Cavalry, retired November 1, 1861
Washington L. Elliott- transferred to Major, 1st Cavalry
Robert M. Morris
John P. Hatch
Gordon Granger
Alfred Gibbs
William B. Lane
George W. Howland
Alexander McRae- killed at Valverde, NM February 21, 1862
Joseph G. Tilford
Christopher H. McNally
Edward Treacy- died at Cincinnati, OH February 15, 1864
John V.D. DuBois
William W. Averell
Edward P. Cressey
Leroy S. Elbert
Andrew J. Alexander
Elisha W. Tarlton
William Hawley

First Lieutenants

Laurence S. Baker- resigned May 10, 1861
Hyatt C. Ransom- appointed AQM, vacated regt commission June 10, 1861
Roger Jones- appointed AQM, vacated regt commission July 31, 1861
Sidney Banks
James R. Kemble
Charles E. Hay
Frank Stanwood
William A. DuBois
Frederick Van Vliet
Henry Sachs
Philip K. Thomas
William G. Hoffman
Francis H. Wilson
William M. Watts
John E. Phelps
Frederick J. James- died near Cold Spring, NY August 4, 1864
Charles Meinhold
Richard Wall
Gerald Russell

Second Lieutenants

William H. Jackson- resigned May 16, 1861
Henry C. McNeill- resigned May 12, 1861
Joseph Wheeler Jr.- resigned April 22, 1861
John Falvey
Deane Monahan
William Ewing
George O. McMullin
Samuel Hildeburn
Alexander Sutorius
William J. Cain
George Harrington- killed in attack at Memphis, TN August 21, 1864
George J. Campbell
Henry Carroll
Charles Newbold- transferred to 5th U.S. Infantry August 20, 1862
Armon Trimble- commission revoked September 18, 1863
Carter B. Harrison- declined appointment
Theodore Texter- commission revoked September 18, 1863

Brevet Second Lieutenants

Mathis W. Henry- resigned August 19, 1861
George O. Watts- resigned August 10, 1861
John M. Kerr- dismissed